Priests Set to Release The Seduction of Kansas

PRIESTS ANNOUNCE NEW ALBUM, SHARE VIDEO FOR TITLE TRACK, ANNOUNCE 2019 TOUR DATES

THE SEDUCTION OF KANSAS IS OUT APRIL 5TH ON SISTER POLYGON RECORDS

Photo by Drew Hagelin

WATCH "THE SEDUCTION OF KANSAS"

https://youtu.be/coR59SSPWv8

LISTEN TO "THE SEDUCTION OF KANSAS"
http://smarturl.it/TheSeductionOfKansas

What is at stake in the seduction of Kansas? Like a gavel or hammer, the question rattles across the second LP from Washington, D.C. rock iconoclasts Priests: The Seduction of Kansas, out April 5th via their own Sister Polygon Records. They announce their new album today alongside a massive world tour and a video for the title track.

Entering their eighth year as a band, Priests—drummer Daniele Daniele, vocalist Katie Alice Greer, and guitarist G.L. Jaguar—remain an inspired anomaly in modern music. A band on its own label—jolting the greater music world with early releases by Downtown Boys, Snail Mail, Sneaks, and Gauche—they are living proof that it is still possible to work on one’s own terms, to collectively cultivate one’s own world.

Priests enlisted two primary collaborators in writing, arranging, and recording The Seduction of Kansas. After playing cello, mellotron, and lap steel on Nothing Feels Natural, multi-instrumentalist Janel Leppin (Mellow Diamond, Marissa Nadler) returned to breathe air into Priests’ demos, serving as primary bassist and a fourth songwriting collaborator on The Seduction of Kansas. The band also found a kindred spirit in producer John Congleton (Angel Olsen, St. Vincent), recording for two weeks at his Elmwood Studio in Dallas. It marked the band’s first time opening up their creative work to collaborate with someone outside of their DC-based community—a decidedly less hermetic approach. Priests found a third collaborator in bassist Alexandra Tyson, who has also joined the touring band. The songwriting process found the group once again analyzing the textures and scopes of albums as aggressive as they are introspective, like Massive Attack’s Mezzanine, Portishead’s Third, and Nine Inch Nails’ Downward Spiral.

The first single, "The Seduction of Kansas," is Priests’ purest pop song to date. It is dark and glittering—though there is still something fantastically off about it, decadent and uneasy at once. As journalist Thomas Frank explored in 2004’s What’s the Matter With Kansas?, the ideological sway of Kansas has often predicted the direction in which the U.S. will move—whether leaning socialist in the 1800s or going staunchly conservative in the 1980s. Illustrating Kansas’ potent place in our national imagination—as well as “a chorus of whoever is trying to persuade the social consciousness of Kansas”—Greer sings brilliantly of a “bloodthirsty cherub choir” in a cornfield, of “a drawn out charismatic parody of what a country through it used to be,” beckoning that “I’m the one who loves you.” The song does what Priests do best: They make us think, stir us with complexity. As for "seduction," the word has long evoked pleasure, sex—but it can become propaganda, a tactic of manipulation, a ploy in the politics of persuasion. “There’s something sinister about the idea of seducing a whole state,” says drummer Daniele Daniele. “You’re clearly up to something. Why would you do it?” The title—like Priests—is a moving target, probing questions about the realities and mythologies of America in 2019 without giving in to easy answers.


THE SEDUCTION OF KANSAS TRACKLISTING

1. Jesus' Son

2. The Seduction of Kansas

3. Youtube Sartre

4. I'm Clean

5. Ice Cream

6. Good Time Charlie

7. 68 Screen

8. Not Perceived

9. Control Freak

10. Carol

11. Interlude

12. Texas Instruments


PRIESTS 2019 TOUR DATES

Fri. March 8 - Savannah, GA @ Savannah Stopover Music Festival

Sat. March 9 - Birmingham, AL @ The Firehouse

Mon. March 11 - Fri. March 15 - Austin, TX @ SXSW

Sun. March 17 - Nashville, TN @ Exit / In

Mon. March 18 - Knoxville, TN @ The Pilot Light

Mon. April 15 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer

Tue. April 16 - Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere

Thu. April 18 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair

Fri. April 19 - Montreal, QC @ Casa Del Popolo

Sat. April 20 - Toronto, ON @ The Garrison

Sun. April 21 - Detroit, MI @ El Club

Mon. April 22 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall

Thu. April 25 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon

Fri. April 26 - Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry

Sat. April 27 - Omaha, NE @ Reverb

Sun. April 28 - Des Moines, IA @ Vaudeville Mews

Tue. April 30 - Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop

Wed. May 1 - Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups

Sat. May 11 - Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape

Sun. May 12 - Bristol, UK @ Rough Trade

Mon. May 13 - Manchester, UK @ YES (Pink Room)

Tues. May 14 - Glasgow, UK @ The Hug and Pint

Wed. May 15 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club

Thu. May 16 - London, UK @ 100 Club

Fri. 17 May - Lille, FR @ Aeronef

Sat. 18 May - Paris, FR @ Supersonic

Mon. 20 May - Brussels, BE @ Botanique (Witloof Bar)

Tue. 21 May - Cologne, DE @ Bumann & Sohn

Wed. 22 May - Munich, DE @ Import/Export

Thu. 23 May - Zurich, CH @ Rote Fabrik

Fri. 24 May - Heidelberg, DE @ Queer Festival (Karlstorbahnhof)

Sat, 25 May - Amsterdam, NL @ London Calling

Mon. 27 May - Aarhus DK @ Tape

Tue. 28 May - Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen

Wed. 29 May – Berlin, DE @ Kantine am Berghain

Thu. 30 May - Hamburg, DE @ Hafenklag (Goldener Salon)

Fri. 31 May - Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret Festival

Sat. June 15 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club

Sun. June 16 - Durham, NC @ The Pinhook

Mon. June 17 - Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn

Tue. June 18 - New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa

Thu. June 20 - Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall

Fri. June 21 - Austin, TX @ Barracuda

Sat. June 22 - Dallas, TX @ Club Dada

Mon. June 24 - Albuquerque, NM @ Sister

Tue. June 25 - Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar

Wed. June 26 - San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar

Thu. June 27 - Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom

Sat. June 29 - Oakland, CA @ Starline Social Club

Mon. July 1 - Portland, OR @ Polaris Hall

Tue. July 2 - Vancouver, BC @ The Bitmore

Wed. July 3 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos

Sat. July 6 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court

Sun. July 7 - Denver, CO @ Lost Lake

Tue. July 9 - Kansas City, MO @ The Record Bar

Wed. July 10 - St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway


Download hi-res images & album art: http://pitchperfectpr.com/priests/


PRE-ORDER THE SEDUCTION OF KANSAS

Sister Polygon pre-order* - https://bit.ly/2TreLft

iTunes Pre-order - https://apple.co/2TvJs3c


*First 350 people who pre-order via Sister Polygon Records directly will receive a 18"x24" glossy poster and a The Seduction of Kansas enamel pin.


Priests Online:

website: http://www.666priests666.com/

spr website: http://sisterpolygon.com/

bandcamp: https://priests.bandcamp.com/

twitter: @PRIESTS_TWEET

facebook: @priestsband

instagram: @insta_priests


For more information, contact: Jacob Daneman | Pitch Perfect PR - jacob@pitchperfectpr.com, 773-271-5844


###





Posted on

January 9, 2019

in

Record

category

related